California Reading Association’s
Eureka! Nonfiction Children’s Book Award

The California Reading Association has established an award to celebrate and honor nonfiction children’s books. The Eureka! Nonfiction Children’s Book Award will assist teachers, librarians, and parents in identifying outstanding nonfiction books for their students and children.
Eligible books must be nonfiction, but can be in any genre including poetry, folktale/fairy tale, informational, biography, memoir, cookbooks, joke books, self-help, reference, etc.  Concisely: Any book that is not fiction is eligible for the Eureka!

Book Submission

  • Gold and silver (honor) awards will be selected each year from submitted books and will reflect a wide diversity of nonfiction genres and age level interest.
  • The winners will be announced to our membership and posted on the CRA website in October of each year.
  • 2021 Book Submission Form
Books must be submitted to be eligible for the Eureka! award. Submissions will be received from June 1 through September 1 of each year. Submissions must be accompanied by the submission entry form and mailed to the California Reading Association (see the submission form for details).
  • Books must have been published during the current year or two years prior. Only books published during those three years are eligible.
  • Books may be submitted by a publisher, author, illustrator, or other interested individual.

Gold and Silver Award Winners

Gold and Silver award Eureka! winners will be announced California Reading Association’s journal, The California Reader. A list of winners will be available at CRA’s state conference and a conference session will highlight the year’s winning books. See the 2020 list here!
Recipients will receive a certificate of honor from California Reading Association and award stickers to place on their books.

For more information, please contact Dr. Virginia Loh-Hagan